To follow your brain or heart…

Greed

You're a mean one, Mr. Grinch

Greed. It’s one of the seven deadly sins. And I’m afraid I’ve been committing it on a daily basis since I started this blog. Why am I guilty? Because I just want more! I want more comments on my posts. I want more links to my blog. And I also want more people to follow my Twitter account where I link to my blogs.

Can’t I have my cake and eat it too?
Is it wrong to want these things? I think the answer is a little complicated. If the point of a blog is just to get people to comment, subscribe or tweet about it, then you might not be doing it right. If the point of the blog is to inspire others, inform, share some lessons and encourage a community of sharing, then you may be going in the right direction.  In my heart I’d like to try and work on the latter. But my brain says “Optimize! Qualify! Increase readership at the expense of losing yourself!” (My brain also sounds like Gilbert Gottfried).

Who are you?
So it’s time to start focusing on my core audience. Who are you? Well, if I had my way you’d be a low-ranking employee in your department, someone who has to work hard to get noticed, and someone who has a dream of someday making it big. But I’m not picky. If you’re a struggling writer, or you’re a CEO that wants to see what your subordinates think of their job or you, you can definitely come along for the ride.

And the point is?
Alright, now that my core audience is found it’s time to focus on the message. Why am I doing this? I was recently asked that question by a skeptical individual (you know who you are, good sir). The point of this blog is mostly informative – showing you what an Agency Underdog goes through on a daily basis and the hard lessons that have to be learned if you’re ever going to make it to the top. But there’s a side message which is this:  You’re not alone in your struggles to make it big. Everyone goes through it and this is just one story about my trials and tribulations.

Big Picture
Take it or leave it. I’ll do my best to try and turn on audiences to what I have to say, but at the same time, I don’t want mindless corporations following me on Twitter for the sake of having followers. It hurts to be honest, but I think in the end if you stick to what you feel is right you’ll be on the right track to success.

Published in: on January 27, 2010 at 5:11 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://agencyunderdog.wordpress.com/2010/01/27/to-follow-your-brain-or-heart/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I, too, could be considered an agency underdog and I often feel your pain. It’s nice to know that someone else out there is going through the same things and that us underdogs can have a voice, no matter how unlikely it may seem at times.

    As for the skeptic, ignore him. I doubt he even knows what he’s talking about. Keep doing what you’re doing and you will be able to have your cake and eat it too.


Leave a comment