Caribou, Beyonce and Oversized Headphones.

Beyonce Knowles performing

Sing it girl.

Everyone has a morning ritual. Whether it’s waking up early to take the dog for a walk, getting up with the little one, or oversleeping till the very last minute – it’s what gets us going in the morning. Mine consists of getting up at 5am, hitting the off button on my alarm, pouring my already-prepared cup of Caribou Coffee and turning on some music videos (but this isn’t the aforementioned Beyonce part).

After I chug the coffee it’s off to the gym – and this is where it’s especially important to blare some wake-me-up music. Whether it’s Beyonce or Lady Gaga, it just needs to keep me singing at the top of my lungs until I get to the gym. Then, once at the gym it’s time to put on my oversized headphones. No, they’re not of the BOSS variety, but they are padded and quite ugly. I see everyone else with their small little ear plugs. No. None of that for me. I need something that is going to block out all other sounds. And then after about 40 minutes of whatever workout I’m going for that morning, I head back home to finish the rest of the morning routine.

Why was it necessary to give you the play-by-play on my morning? Because even though my job is unstable right now (thanks to last week’s massive layoff), it’s nice to know that I have one part of my day all mapped out. And I also believe that to have a sane and healthy mind, you need a healthy body. Now, I’m no health nut, but I do enjoy working out on a regular basis. And have even thought to myself – If I put as much passion into my workout as I do to my work, I’d probably be able to perform a Half Ironman.

Fast forward to the start of my workday – I also think it’s important not to work on anything the first half hour of your morning. Usually I take this time to sift through emails from the weekend, check and see what’s on my plate for the day (which by the way is a saying I REALLY can’t stand), catch up on the latest celebrity gossip, check CNN or Yahoo for the latest news and then make some oatmeal.

What’s on my plate for today? Well it’s shaping up real nice. I got a little head start on Friday which is so nice because I know I won’t be staying late tonight. However, today should be interesting. In lieu of the massive layoffs last week (where my department only took a small hit, and everyone else got hit hard and now the resentment is being laid on thick), our Creative department (which is also part of the overall Marketing department) just hired a new Creative Director. I don’t know who he is, but if I were him I wouldn’t be too happy to be starting a couple days after our largest economic hit and then have to explain why I was hired while coworkers were laid off. Yeah, that wouldn’t be my cup-o-tea. So like I said – it should be interesting.

So to recap – try this out for a great morning:

1. Caribou Coffee
2. Jammin out to Beyonce on your way to the gym
3. Oversized headphones while at the gym
4. Celebrity gossip
5. Oatmeal – of the Raisin and Spice of Strawberry Cream variety

Well, the oatmeal beckons. But I’ll be sure to let you in on some agency happenings throughout the day.

Published in: on January 25, 2010 at 2:29 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://agencyunderdog.wordpress.com/2010/01/25/caribou-beyonce-and-oversized-headphones/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

