Catching up to the rest of the world.

Ahhh. Paid holidays – one of the few perks of working with an ad agency. True it was more of a government holiday, but I’ll take what I can get.

So today is a bit of a catch up. On Thursday and Friday I labored over an article that I was ghost writing for the CEO of our company. I knew he had to submit it to the publisher on Monday so I sent it over at 1pm on Friday and told him to email me over the weekend if he needed any changes.

Fast forward to today. My VP wants a status update on that article. Did it get to the CEO? Did he have changes? Did he submit it to the publisher? Well. Turns out he didn’t. Which, thankfully I had documentation for my alibi. But what about the CEO? Well, after our VP called the CEO to see what the status was on the article, he finally replied to my email with, “Good to go, nice job!”  It seems that he hadn’t even looked at the article until that very moment. Which was fine. I was off the hook, my job was done. So did he submit it to the publisher? No. But it got there because of some smaller fish looking out for him. To which I think – must be nice.

I think a lot of people in an ad agency would have reason to complain about those on the top of the ladder. Always trying to fight tooth and nail to get to the top. I beg to differ. Maybe that’s because I’m not trying to climb that ladder. I’m more of a lateral mover.
But I do have a “fighting” personality. Not the type of personality that finds competition in everything. No – you won’t find that type A girl here. But due to my attention to detail that has only grown with each new position I take on, I find the battles that I know I can win, or think I have a REAL good chance at winning. Sometimes the impulsive side of me takes over, and that’s when I find I learn the real hard lessons like the following:

1.  Never be mean to your co-workers. Burning bridges won’t get you anywhere, and eventually you’ll need help, but it won’t be there if you’re a meany.

2.  Make your heads look good. Is this kissing up? Only if it’s not tactful. Keep it classy, San Diego.

3.  Always have an alibi. Document everything and keep a careful file system. You’ll need it when you least expect it. 

4.  If you know you did something wrong, be the first to point it out. Owning up to your responsibilities is what will lead others to trust you, even if you make mistakes.

5.  Learn how to stick it out. Unless it’s hurting your morale. People hate whiners, so if the situation stinks, try to make it better. 

Well, enough lessons learned for today. Stay tuned for the stories behind these lessons.

Published in: on January 20, 2010 at 12:29 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://agencyunderdog.wordpress.com/2010/01/20/catching-up-to-the-rest-of-the-world/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

